To use Institute For Public Policy (IPP) , please enable JavaScript in your browser settings, and then refresh this page. IPP
IPP Distinguished Lecture
Implementing the Strategy of Innovation-driven Development to Build an Innovative Country 實施創新驅動發展戰略 加快建設創新型國家

Prof. Wei HUANG

Vice Minister, Ministry of Science and Technology of the People's Republic of China

16 April 2019
2:00pm - 3:30pm
Cheung On Tak Lecture Theater (LT-E), Academic Building, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Medium :

1:30pm – 2:00pm Registration and Refreshment will be served outside of the venue
2:00pm – 2:05pm Introduction by Prof. Ye QI (Director, Institute for Public Policy, HKUST)
2:05pm – 3:00pm Speech by Prof. Wei HUANG (Vice Minister, Ministry of Science and
Technology of the People's Republic of China) on "Implementing the
Strategy of Innovation-driven Development to Build an Innovative Country"
3:00pm – 3:20pm Q & A Session
3:20pm – 3:30pm Group Photo Taking
3:30pm End of Program
Photo & Video

Prof. Wei HUANG graduated from Nanjing Institute of Technology (currently Southeast University) in July 1982. With a doctoral degree in engineering, he is a professor, a member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) and an expert in road and bridge construction and transport engineering. He is serving as Vice Minister of Science and Technology of the People’s Republic of China. 
He served as Executive Vice President of Southeast University, Vice Governor of Jiangsu Provincial Government, Vice Minister of the former Ministry of Construction, Vice Minister of the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development, Vice Mayor of Beijing Municipality, Member of the Standing Committee of the CPC Committee of Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region and Executive Vice Chairman of the Government of Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region. 
In 1996, he was awarded the State Council Special Allowance and was included in the New Century Excellent Talents Program; in 1997, he won the title of national-level young and middle-aged expert with outstanding contributions and was included in the first and second tiers of the National Young Academic Leaders Program; in 1999, he was recruited as Distinguished Professor of Yangtze River Scholars Program of Ministry of Education; in 2004, he was awarded the title of Honorary Yangtze River Scholar by Ministry of Education due to excellent performance; in 2007, he was elected a member of the CAE;in 2008, he was elected Honorary Fellow of the Institution of Structural Engineers.
As one of the main pioneers in steel deck pavement of long-span bridges, he organized and led design and engineering implementation of steel deck pavement of nearly 30 long-span bridges. As the main awardee, he won 26 national, ministerial and provincial S&T prizes, among which four were National Award for S&T Progress and eight were grand prizes and first prizes of provincial awards for S&T progress. He published 13 works and acquired over 10 patents. 


HKUST Institute for Public Policy